Friday, 27 June 2014

007 Book: The Spy Who Loved Me (1962)

Bond book: The Spy Who Loved Me
Author: Ian Fleming
Publication date: 16 April 1962

The Spy Who Loved Me is the ninth novel in Ian Fleming's James Bond series, first published by Jonathan Cape on 16 April 1962. It is the shortest (only 113 pages long) and most sexually explicit of Fleming's novels, as well as a clear departure from previous Bond novels in that the story is told in the first person by a young Canadian woman, Vivienne Michel. Bond himself does not appear until two thirds of the way through the book. Fleming wrote a prologue to the novel giving Michel credit as a co-author. The Spy Who Loved Me was written in Jamaica at Fleming's Goldeneye estate.

British secret service agent James Bond appears at the door asking for a room, having had a flat tyre while passing. Bond quickly realises that Horror and Sluggsy are mobsters and that Viv is in danger. Pressuring the two men, he eventually gets the gangsters to agree to provide him a room. Bond tells Michel that he is in America in the wake of Operation Thunderball and was detailed to protect a Russian nuclear expert who defected to the West and who now lives in Toronto, as part of his quest to ferret out SPECTRE.

See more information here

See more 007 BOOKS here

No comments:

Post a Comment

Unfortunately we don´t publish links or advertisements.